Help Needed - Geological relationship between, hot springs, pyrite, and gold

greeno1645

Jan 6, 2013
Jupiter, FL
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Greetings Everyone! New to the group, but I've always have had a bug for adventure and treasure hunting. Any geologists out there that might lend their expertise with regards to some questions I have on gold prospecting?

I use to run eco-tours in the Peruvian Amazon and later did some serious exploring on the border of Brazil and Peru (from 1997-2011). The mountains that seperate Brazil from Peru (Sierra Divisor) are extremely geothermic, thousands of hot springs and sulfer springs.

I had read that gold is brought to the surface through hot springs, along with pyrite. Is this true? If so, how?

I have no real experience at gold panning, but nevertheless I tried panning in a few spots. Without exaggeration, in a few hours I panned out handfuls of pyrite and plenty of black sand with 'shiny gold' flecks, but with so much pyrite in the area, I simply discarded the black sand assuming it was of no real value.

In hindsight, I have learned that I may have thrown away actual gold, so I am considering another trip to try my hand, but would like to get a bit better educated on where/how to pan.

If hot/sulfur springs are the source of the gold, should I dig as close as possible to the springs?

There are also gravel bed/sand bars in the the middle of the streams and embankments on the edges of the streams. Is one better than the other with regards to digging around?

Is gold and pyrite always found together? If so, what do you think is the typical ratio between the quantity of pyrite found for every ounce of gold?

I know that gold sinks further down in the ground than pyrite due to its density, but how much deeper down should I expect to dig?

With regards to seperating gold from black sand....what can I use other than mercury?

Thanks for the help!

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds