Help? Ship Wreck Google Earth

Marco Marco

Greenie
Jan 12, 2009
Perdido Key, FL
I have been observing for about six months now. I have gotten alot out of the site. I came across this while on google earth. I used a vehicle at the same height to measure the ship. It is approx. 150 long. I check the USCG charts and it has been sounded by them and marked as an obstruction. What I need is some information on the restrictions that are on the charts they send me to the legend but then that sends me somewhere else. The wreck is off the coast of a National SeaShore Area and Federal Land. I know it has not been check out from the beach because the area can not be accessed. I would like to dive the wreck from the water approach but don't want to be arrested. are there any Laws that prevent me from diving the wreck if i approach it from the water. Also can any one make out weather the hull is metal are wood.

Thank You

Attachments

• ship2.JPG
    ship2.JPG
    37 KB · Views: 6,823
OP
OP
Marco Marco

Marco Marco

Greenie
Jan 12, 2009
Perdido Key, FL
Update
Contacted the National Seashore Folks and even though the USCG charts show the area a National Seashore they said it was not, but was under the control of the DOD. Oh Great Trying to get a answer out of them will prolly take a few years. But I will try any who.

Marco

OP
OP
Marco Marco

Marco Marco

Greenie
Jan 12, 2009
Perdido Key, FL
Don

Not necessarily my area. But I did serve 10 years active duty. So I am familiar with the DOD. I did contact NASP as a starting point just because I can actually drive and talk to them face to face. The guy I am suppose to talk to is gone for the day. So I will have to contact him in a day or two.

inletsurf

Oct 1, 2006
Sebastian Inlet, Florida
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Marco Marco said: