Help with Minihighbanker

Frghtshkr

Apr 23, 2013
Gilbert AZ
Detector(s) used
Gold Cube, Royal Mini Highbanker, Angus Mackirk sluice
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I just purchased a Royal Gold Mini highbanker used. Can any body tell me the proper way the expanded metal is suppose top be placed in the sluice section? I know it suppose to be a certain way but I don't have any directions.
Also what pitch should it be at? the usual 1" per foot?
Thanks

Upvote 0

vcgjr76

Tenderfoot
Sep 15, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new at this too, but I have been studying this for about a year now so maybe I can help. Look at the expanded metal closely, it should be bent upwards one way. place it in your sluice so that the water flow has to go up and over the expanded metal. This will create small eddie currents for your gold to get trapped in your moss or carpet. If placed backwards it will force water under your expanded metal and could wash out gold. So up with the water flow just like your riffles. As far as the angle, 1" per 1' is standard but not a given. Water flow and material you are running could vary that. You have to set it up and run a small sample to see how the material clears out. If you cant see your moss or carpet behind each riffle you either have too much water flow, not enough water flow, or not at the right angle. Make ajustments then you are ready to run. Good luck and if I missed something or got something wrong hopefully some experienced guys can correct me.

Last edited:

B H Prospector

Feb 2, 2010
Black Hills, South Dakota
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello Frghtshkr and vcgjr76,
Welcome to the net fellas. Someone has been paying attention to what he reads in these forums. Vc yo decribed it perfectly. I couldn't have said it better myself. One other thing you will want to consider Frghtshkr is the pump size in your set up. A1200gph bildge pump will work very good.

Good Luck!

BH Prospector

goldhog

May 14, 2013