Hi all

rob.k1978

Tenderfoot
Oct 4, 2007
Hello everybody.Its my first time here.First of all,i want to say,that this is for sure,the most interesting website,i found in past 8 years of using internet.I a lot of interesting news about treasures.I love this website!!! I would like to also find something old,but i have few questions first....Is it legal to dig anywhere i want,like for example open field,or forests?do i need to have license to do it? and most important,where are the best places for digging.I live in Chicago.Thank you and once again... best website!!!!

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
Welcome to Treasurenet forum. You struck a raw nerve question. There are those that tell you to "ask" to hunt even public parks and schools - on the one timid extreme, to those that tell you that if it's not posted, fenced, or an obvious private yard, that you can use judgement to help yourself, as seemingly no one would care. I side with the latter opinion. Heck, I've even walked along the railroad tracks without asking Southern Pacific their permission! Shame on me :P

Texas Coin Hunter

Aug 24, 2007
Kenedy, Tx.
Detector(s) used
BH land star & Pioneer EX made by BH & Whites Bullseye ll Pin Pointer
Hi you would be better off if you find out who
owns the property & get their permission
before some one comes up too you & says to
get off the property or were gonna call the
law on you. Here is a simple permission slip
just copy & paste it into Word pad & save it
then all you have todo is print it out when
you find out who is the owner of the property.

I recommend getting written permission every time you hunt on private property and especially if the land owner questions liability if you hurt yourself. I am not a lawyer but it seems to me that the following forms should meet your needs. You keep the top one and give the bottom one to the landowner.