Hi Im a newbie! any tips on purchasing penny boxes?

lucas1889

Jun 28, 2018
California
Detector(s) used
Garett At Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have never done any coin roll hunting before, but I love to collect and fill albums. Im thinking of purchasing a $25 penny box soon. It looks like a blast! I heard that the percentage of copper is 20-30 percent, and theres a good chance of finding wheats. Who knows, I might take up the hobby.

Any suggestions on how to go about ordering a box of pennies without looking crazy? Haha :)
Do you normally have to place an order for a box of coins, or do they have it in stock?
Most importantly, how do you make sure that it is all circulated, and not mint-rolled?

I want copper! not zinc!

Upvote 0

Coinfucius

Tenderfoot
Jul 10, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I was where you are now at one point. Believe it or not, it's as simple as walking up to a teller at your bank and nicely asking for a box of pennies. They'll generally be very nice about it. On the off chance they're not, just politely say thanks and try another branch. Most banks have some in stock, but you can also place orders if you plan on doing it regularly. When you open the box at first, you'll know if it's all new or not. If it is all new, pick a designated branch for dumping, and just hand in the box, they're not too weird about that either. Just don't go trying to pick up more coins at your dumping branch. HH

Last edited:
OP
OP
L

lucas1889

Jun 28, 2018
California
Detector(s) used
Garett At Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Cool thanks Coinfucius. I guess there is a zero failure rate when buying coins because if the whole box is all new, its guaranteed money back.

FormerTeller

Bronze Member
Apr 24, 2011
If you run into trouble finding boxes, you can always ask for rolls. Just about every bank has penny coin rolls available, customer or not.

Rosco53

Mar 17, 2018
Bryant, WI
Detector(s) used