Greenie
Sep 10, 2012
Federal Way
Detector(s) used
:(
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Checking in from Federal Way WA.

I am new to detecting, but have had family that were old hands way back in the day. My Grandfather, Robert Forbes, was a constant source of information, lore, and war stories involving treasure hunting using various means. He was particularly fond of going after an old, abandoned outdoor toilet with nothing more than a shovel. Him and his hunting buddies Joe (can't remember the last name) and Dan (think his last name was Dozart) would occasionally take me along for some detecting in New Orleans if they were hitting something easy like a park or school ground. His favorite activity was metal detecting on the Port Hudson Battlefield. He would bring his gear to work with him (Louisiana State Penitentiary at Angola) and creep into the battlefield after work. A night's detecting would often lead to a couple of shells, a handful of minie balls, and the occasional item that stood out. Buckles, bayonets, buttons, etc. Then he would hike back out before dawn, having piled everything into an old Boy Scouts backpack. Once home, a quick bit of demilling, and a quick cleanup with a brush and some shellac, and it went into the case. It's a wonder he never blew himself up doing this. When he retired from the state back in the early 80's, they bought his collection and placed it in the Port Hudson Battlefield Museum. I understand that it's all still there to this day.