Highbanker options and power

alberg99

Tenderfoot
Mar 9, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi all. I'm looking at getting my first high banker and have narrowed down the field to this Royal 30"
and the royal 50"

My concerns with the 30" are that the hopper seems to drop the material and water directly on to the rubber matting, leaving little matting left before material would get to the riffles and water and material seems like it would just be pummeling the rubber matting, washing away any fines out of the box where the 50" has a nice strip of grooved rubber after the hopper. I'd like to know your thoughts on how you think there would be any impact in this regard.

Also and perhaps more importantly, the 30" comes with a 2060 GPH 12v 7.5amp pump where the 50" comes with 2 1200 GPH, 12v, 4amp pumps.

I'm new to this whole battery/pump thing so please excuse my ignorance here and I have searched across the forums and found a lot of good info but nothing that has reassured me that I know what I'm dealing with here yet. If I went the two pump route, could I run them both off of one battery? From the info I've gathered, the answer is yes. Are there any battery recommendations out there? This all feels weird/dangerous bringing batteries down to the water. But maybe that's just me. (Before you say it, I'm not really interested in a gas pump).

All thoughts and suggestions are welcome.

winners58

Bronze Member
Apr 4, 2013
Oregon
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I would find one with a better hopper, one that you could rest a full size shovel filled with dirt that you could dribble in or let the spray wash off the dirt.
these look like you could break those spray bars real quick, best would be 3000gph bilge pump with a full size hopper with the spray bars protected, 10" wide sluice.
a good example would be south yuba mining's hopper with the spray bars on the outside SYuba exclusive products