Hobo Junction?

Gettintoknowsomethin

Feb 15, 2009
Long Beach CA.
Detector(s) used
$49.99 Radio Shack
I live in a small town in South Wisconsin that dates back to the middle 1800s. I am new to this hobby and am learning more each day as it warms up around here. It has come to my attention while I was chatting with a lifelong resident here of 93 years old that there is a 4 acre area hidden in the woods just outside of town that was called Hobo Junction by the locals here. It was very active by the rail road hobos for over 50 years. They had numerous shacks and other shelters in this 4 acre area. I checked with the local police here and they stated the property was owned by no one at this time and I would be welcomed to use my detector there. I was wondering if any of you history experts out there might have some feed back as to if this kind of place would be any good for me to detect at? Thanks for your answers!

Lowbatts

Gold Member
Jul 1, 2003
Elgin
Detector(s) used
Fishers 1235X-8" CZ-20/21-8" F-70-11"DD GC1023
sardine tins, tobacco tins, little or no change to speak of. Maybe a small hidey hole cache of a buck or two face value if you're lucky!

S

stefen

Probably a better place to hunt than a public park or a popular picnic area...Just think of it as a constantly changing mobile society over a half century's time.

Usually, these places were used by seasonal workers and indigents, however, as campers, they also had a tendency to lose pocket change, pocket knives and other personal objects...

Many people from all walks of life took to the by-ways and trains during the depression era...a once well-to-do gentleman, turned hobo, may have lost a gold ring, pocket watch or cuff links...

Also, I wouldn't be surprised if one couldn't find hand guns, knives, brass knuckles and the like. You would have to assume that there was a certain contingent of criminals in and amoungst those trying to survive in the bad times.