Silver Member
Oct 4, 2010
The Garden State
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE Pro & CTX-3030
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm no expert, but to me it looks like a reproduction as the details seem to be quite sharp. I'll let some of the experts weigh in and see what their verdict is. Did it come out of the ground that clean?

FoundInNC

Mar 20, 2012
Mebane, North Carolina
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Gold and AT Pro
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Where did you find it? That often tells much of what you need to Gauge the authenticity.

Rick (Nova Scotia)

Silver Member
May 8, 2008
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Omega, F75, AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
As Eric said the details are almost "too" sharp, looking almost indian instead of spanish.

The outside shape is cob like, but other than that this "coin" has no resemblence to a real cob.

Iron Patch

Gold Member
Sep 28, 2007
Dirtyville
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Unfortunately not even close. Modern fake cob is I guess what they were going after. If it's fairly big probably an 8 reale.

Last edited:

Southie E.J.

May 16, 2011
South Boston Ma
Detector(s) used
WHITES COINMASTER, MINELABS 705, and ETRAC
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Im the friend who hunted with him when he found it. I think its a 2 reale. pretty much the size of a quarter. It did come out clean, and the detail is very nice, but it does happen sometimes, but I do see how it could be a fake. I hope not. I was real happy for him. Well if it is at least its silver.

austin

Gold Member
Jul 9, 2012
San Antonio, Texas
Detector(s) used
Garrett 250
Primary Interest:
Other