Rock22

Sep 9, 2013
Erie Pennsylvania
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Tejon
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello,

I am new to this so please forgive my question if it is dumb. I was wondering how far items really sink/cover up from leaves, dirt? I have been an arrowhead collector for sometime and understand that the plowing of fields brings them up. I also bottle hunt and find them along ridges in the woods where people dumped them. I find that bottles can be buried pretty deep and always wondered if it was leaves decomposing over many many years or if someone threw dirt on top. With metal detecting I always wondered how items get covered/sink and how far. I have found some musket balls on my land along a ridge and they were down 2-3 inches so is there any way to age an item from its depth? Thanks for any info.

Bill

cactusrat

Jun 27, 2012
South Texas
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
To many factors involved to age by depth.

Soil type, hardness of the soil and for how deep one type of soil is, soil moisture, weight and size of the object are just a few factors that will effect the sink rate.

And lets not forget, how deep the kid burying the treasure felt like digging that day.

Jeremy S

Feb 27, 2012
God's Country
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garret Ace 250, AT Pro, Garret Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I have found modern clad nearly a foot down in yards with moles. The moles tunneling back and forth help objects descend very fast.

I found a silver dime in a yard at an old house with hard pack soul that was maybe an inch deep. I found a 1980s quarter at a park that was nearly a foot down with an ACE 250 last year. Things tent to sink faster in softer ground with less foot and vehicle traffic.