How do I get better?

olga1913-Alaska

Greenie
Dec 14, 2003
Sitka, Alaska
Detector(s) used
GB II
Obviously a newbie here. How does a person become familiar with their machine? How can you practice? I live in Sitka, AK where the ground is saturated with water most of the time. It is also geologically young country with little placer gold. Most of my detecting trips will be into the Interior. Never used a machine before. Can I practice with lead or other metals? Do I have to bury a nugget? Is it worth my time to practice on one soil type knowing I will be hunting on another? Will the water saturated soil here give me a false reading? Would it help me to go to an area near here where gold bearing hard rock is visible and exposed? I am 800 miles from the nearest prospecting store and I am not aware of anyone here who uses detector for the purpose of hunting nuggets.

I want to be prepared for my first outing with a machine. From what I have read here and on other forums experience is critical. How can I gain it? I am not sitting here with a new machine next to me. I am still trying to get input on whether I get a Gold Bug 2, Eureka Gold, GMT, or used Minelab. When I get my machine I want to have some degree of confidence that I can use it to its full capabilities. What can I do to improve my odds?

I know this is an entry level situation and is not up to par with the level of discussion here but I am growing weary of learning through osmosis. Hence the newbie questions.

Thanks for reading this,

Bruce

Attachments

• Skeleton Gambling Boat.jpg
    Skeleton Gambling Boat.jpg
    145 KB · Views: 31
Upvote 0
T

TimeDog

Most any detectors will have no problem with water or very wet soil as 97% use waterproof for coil below the control.