how effective is whites mxt pro for gold prospecting

MangaRang

Greenie
Jul 20, 2013
Hi every one I am very new to prospecting and curretly looking to buy new detector I currently live in Australia. I was thinking of the mxt becouse it is so versatile and I would like to use it for mostly gold prospecting for when I go on hikes but I would also like to do some beach hunts.
If any one has used a mxt pro for gold or know of some one id love to hear what they think cheers..

Upvote 0

Hard Prospector

Aug 29, 2012
SO CAL
Detector(s) used
SDC2300, Gold Monster, Sierra Gold Trac, GB2, the Falcon......and just as many drywashers
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Yah, the MXT being a multi purpose machine can be used as a gold detector with a suitable coil but if gold is the primary objective, I would recommend the GMT or GB Pro.

OP
OP
MangaRang

MangaRang

Greenie
Jul 20, 2013
My friend owns a gmt and it is a great machine and it finds super small nugets which is great but I hear the mxt pick up fair like .2 gram nuggets easy I dont think I be super intrested on chasing much smaller flakes than that. But im a nooby so im not sure if that is correct.

Jim in Idaho

Silver Member
Jul 21, 2012
Blackfoot, Idaho
Detector(s) used
White's GM2, GM3, DFX, Coinmaster, TDI-SL, GM24K, Falcon MD20, old Garrett Masterhunter BFO
'Way Too Cool' dual 18 Watt UV light
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Yah, the MXT being a multi purpose machine can be used as a gold detector with a suitable coil but if gold is the primary objective, I would recommend the GMT or GB Pro.
GB Pro is about the same level as the MXT....not better. GB Pro is no match for the GMT. To equal the GMT, and surpass both the MXT and GB Pro, you need the Gold Bug 2. It's all about the operating frequencies when it comes to finding small gold. GMT 48 khz. GB2 73khz. MXT 14khz. GB Pro 19khz. For a good comparison, by a guy who really knows prospecting, go here: