I am a Newbie and I am so confused on what Garrett to buy. Looking for advice.

Dec 11, 2011
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Hello,

I am brand new at this and have spent the past week researching everything about what kind of metal detector to buy. I have talked to Metal detector.com and Kelly company on the phone. I have seen countless reviews, videos, manuals and etc. I have just purchased a condo right on the St. Pete Beach in Florida. I am basically retired at 48 and will be there mostly as a snow bird. I plan on metal detecting instead of golfing everyday. My wife and I will be doing this together. I plan on going no deeper than waist deep in the ocean. All I know is I want a waterproof metal detector with a warranty. Also I will be doing wet sand and dry white sand from Key West Atlantic Ocean and Miami to St. Pete Beach and Clearwater Gulf Beaches.

The consencious is Minelab Excalibur, Fisher CZ-21, Garrett AT Pro, Fisher 1280 and 5th place Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II. Now this is what I have been told in order basically by the "experts" for Salt Water submersion and beach combing. Not sure I want the Porsche (Excalibur). Kelly Company has a package if you buy a Garrett AT Pro or a Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II you can basically get a lower end Bounty Hunter Pro 505 (for my wife) for $119 or a MPX Multi Pro for $70.

So my question is do I purchase the Tank (Sea Hunter PI detector) and I understand do alot of digging or the AT Pro? I will have alot of time on my hands and I want to find the rings and gold jewelry buried deep that other detectors miss. I also like the idea of have a read out display with the AT Pro so I don't have to dig up every bottle top.

I can get either the Sea Hunter w/2 coils and Pro 505 for $869. Or the AT Pro and Pro 505 for $732. I am looking for ANY advice from anyone.

Thank You

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used