Southern California/Beijing
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Quick Draw II
(A gift from Hosensack)
Fisher F2
Vulcan 360 Pinpointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Well, despite my expectations to not get my hopes down, I am starting to get dissappointed. :( I searched for 3 Hours today, at a ghost town, a park, and my backyard. I didn't find ONE PIECE OF STINKIN' TRASH!!! The problem is either me, or my detector. I would think that it is me, because I am extremely new to this, but I am starting to get frustrated. I need some tips to point me in the right direction so that I can avoid signals that lead to 10 minutes wasted and an empty two foot deep hole.
Thanks,
Guad

Upvote 0

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2

Well, despite my expectations to not get my hopes down, I am starting to get dissappointed. :( I searched for 3 Hours today, at a ghost town, a park, and my backyard. I didn't find ONE PIECE OF STINKIN' TRASH!!! The problem is either me, or my detector. I would think that it is me, because I am extremely new to this, but I am starting to get frustrated. I need some tips to point me in the right direction so that I can avoid signals that lead to 10 minutes wasted and an empty two foot deep hole.
Thanks,
Guad

It's going to be next to impossible for anyone here to diagnose the problem, without being there to see what you're doing. Have you done air tests of a myriad of targets? Try varying depths, sweep speeds (speed at which you pass the target in front of the coil) and so forth. Try putting targets (various different ones, both samples of nails, sample of foil wads, sample of coins, etc....) on the ground, and try "pinpointing" them. Although you'll, of course, know where the item is (because you can plainly see it on top of the ground), yet by playing with your pinpoint mode, and "x-marks-the-spot" , you'll get practice for when the target is un-seen under the ground.