I need some advice on which metal detector to buy

bigrush828

Aug 7, 2010
Northwest Arkansas
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE
Primary Interest:
Other
Hi all, I'm pretty new to the MD world, but I have enough experience to know I need an upgrade. I currently own a Bounty Hunter Tracker IV (I know, I'm a newbie, etc etc). I have learned to use it well, and it has had success, but i need more options and power. I have been doing some research, and the "Fisher F5" looks promising. I also like the features of the "Garret AT PRO", but some of the issues I read about have turned me off to it. I know these are both "intermediate", and that's ok. I would not mind some more advanced than these though.

If I throw out some criteria, I was hoping some of you MD guru's could throw out some suggestions.

Here are my requirements (some exceptions could be made if need be):
- Budget = $800 or less
-Good coin detector
-Good CW relic detector
-Good for finding gold/silver jewelry in parks, old yards, etc.
-I would like one that has a different sound for different types of metal, but this may not be possible
-Doesn't have to penetrate super deep, but 8-10' at least is preferred
-Nothing insanely hard to learn and fumble with while in the field
-Nice digital display with some kind of indicator to help weed out garbage like foil.
-I live in Northwest Arkansas (Ozark mountains), so I am pretty sure we have highly mineralized soil. Someone here may be more familiar with this area's soil? just assume I need one that will help combat those pesky minerals in the soil.

Ok, so maybe I just described everyone's dream machine that does not exist, but based on this criteria, I would love to start a dialog of different options. thanks in advance and i LOVE this forum!! So much great knowledge!

-BR828

Upvote 0

mydejavooo

Oct 26, 2011
Hansen, Idaho
Detector(s) used
Whites Spectrum XLT
Whites Spectrum XLT e-series
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting