I scored a stack of 60s 45 records! I could use some advice...

clovis97

Silver Member
Dec 9, 2010
I scored a stack of 60's 45 records! I could use some advice...

I was working a TS yesterday, and a woman was looking at a record album of 45's.

"Wow!!! Where did you find that?" I asked, as she was thumbing through the Beatles section of this album.

"Over there. I got it for my friend" she replied.

"I know that you'll want to keep it, but if you decide you don't, let me know. I love old vinyl" I said.

"Here. You can have it. My friend only wants 78's" she said, as my jaw hit the floor.

I thanked her profusely, and we chatted for a few minutes. I was thrilled to get it. I figured that they would be run of the mill copies with significant wear.

Now, mind you, I've been attending auctions for 30 years, and am drawn to old vinyl, but I do NOT consider myself a record guy. 99% of all the records that I buy have little value, and most of the time, they are damaged or scratched. It turns out, to my surprise, that these 45's are in SUPER clean condition.

I've never found such clean vinyl in my life. I am still in a little awe of how nice they are.

Generally speaking, I've have been extremely gun-shy when it comes to listing vinyl on ebay. The last thing I need is some audiophile leaving me a neg because of a scratch that can only be seen with a microscope.

I hate grading stuff. My idea of a C-9 Lionel train may be way different than your idea of C-9, even though there are strict guidelines to follow.

I believe that most of what I have is VG++, from what I've read.

Do you have suggestions about grading?

Also, what is the best way to ship 45's? Specific instructions would be appreciated!!!

Thanks!!!!!!!!

Tom Bigbee

Feb 17, 2009
Miss/ Ala
Detector(s) used
1266X
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting