Im a newb at hunting First nickel box

baltax

Mar 9, 2011
$100 nickel box
I'm at work so don't have exact dates of some but the main ones are
2x 1942 P war nickels
1x 1939 no mint mark nickel
probably around 10-15 1950-1960
is there any specific dates or things I really need to look for?
I am keeping 60 and older nickels If I'm not mistaken S mint mark is the rarest?
Or does that depend on the year?
I think my 39 is also double died on the Monticello building but its not that great of shape
if Maybe when I get back to the house ill post a pic and get opinions
whats the common ratio before finding a buff or a V? I know I have a lot more to go.

Thanks and if you have any tips plz let them fly.
I hit one bank up and they said I couldn't come in and get boxes all the time and they wont order for me. it was a smaller bank should I try a large bank in my area? or do they normal charge for this service.

Upvote 0

gotgot

Dec 29, 2008
Welcome to the board, baltax! Enjoy the camaraderie and ignore the grumps, of which there are many :tongue3:

Conventional wisdom is, keep all pre-60's until you haev a complete collection, then just keep your 38 and 39 branch mints, 1950-D (and maybe 1950-P too), and your war nicks.

I personally always save my 2009 nicks as well. They are already scarce and were minted at less than 10% of a typical mintage year.

OP
OP
B

baltax

Mar 9, 2011
thanks For the greetings and the info.
anyone with some basic guidelines for penny's too
im doing this as more of a hobby so probably no half ordering or quarters.
im 21yr old college student so $1000 in quarter box is a bit much lol

Diggin-N-Dumps

Gold Member
Sep 9, 2009
Fort Worth,Texas
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030 / AT PRO / Etrac w/ NEL
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
OP
OP
B

baltax

Mar 9, 2011
yea I read through that article just seeing if any other tid bits out there thanks