Central Florida
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Deus II
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
I'm Conflicted and Need Advice

I'm new to all the latest equipment and am going through the common dilemma of choosing a good MD. I really need the expert advice found on this forum.

I live in Florida and most of my MD'ing will be done in sand based soil for coins, jewelry and relics. Even central FL soil is sandy. I will also be hunting on beaches as they are close. We get a lot of rain as you might know so I like the waterproof feature of the ATpro but I think the multiple frequency capability of the Xterra is a real plus if I understand what I've read. If the Xterra were waterproof there would be no doubt in my mind.

Question: Is the multiple frequency capability that big of an advantage over the ATpro and is the Xterra that vulnerable to moisture damage? I don't plan to submerse the entire unit while MD'ing but who knows where this hobby will lead?

Thank you

Tired Rooster

Nov 6, 2011
Alabama
Detector(s) used
Minelabs and Tesoros
Several of them....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have detected in the rain with my Xterra on a couple of occasions. Just got caught in it and didn't want to pack it in. Keep the control box covered well and protected. It's not a water machine....but as long it's protected ok I never had any issues with a little rain....TR

ThTx

Dec 19, 2006
Combine
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Master Hunter CX Plus, Teknetics G2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If you're going to be hunting the beaches, you should definitely go for the AT Pro. Hunting beaches without getting in the water will definitely limit you. I use my ATP at Galveston and adjust the ground balance manually to quite the salt chatter and use it wading. Just my opinion.

Dak

May 26, 2013
Connecticut
Detector(s) used
Garrett Sea Hunter XL 500
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting