Im new! What do I do!?

SevenTwoOffSuit

Greenie
Dec 26, 2012
Oregon
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I'm new! What do I do!?

Hello everyone! I'm pretty new to prospecting and I have a question. I've went a few times with a friend and we used his Angus MacKirk sluice box and have found a few flakes and now I am looking to get my own and I'm pretty sure I want to get an Angus MacKirk also. However, I would like to get a recirculating set up and I have found the one I like; the 'mini long tom power sluice' (Recirculators - Fine Gold Recovery by Angus MacKirk Gold Mining and Manufacturing Equipment) and I was just wondering what everyone thought of this. I realize that I could probably make my own recirculating power sluice but I was given enough money to go towards a sluice box for Christmas. If anyone has experience with this one or any other power sluice I would love to hear your input! Thank you in advance!

walldo

Jun 18, 2012
Washington state
Detector(s) used
Mine lab x terra 305
In this forum is a member Doug Watson. He is with prospectors plus. They build fine gold sluices. He is in Washington state. A wealth of knowledge .

63bkpkr

Silver Member
Aug 9, 2007
Southern California
Detector(s) used
XLT, GMT, 6000D Coinmaster
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
1) Check with Doug
2) Depending on your abilities and machinery a home built unit could have design problems whereas a prebuilt unit will have most if not all the kinks worked out of it.

In my mind a recirculating unit is some type of wash plant with catch tubs for the water and pumps to keep it moving back and forth. Angus makes great products but you might care to check out casluicebox.com and their GSM or Stream model highbankers, extend the legs buy a couple large tubs, a motorized pump and you would be good to go. Just a thought and best of success to you with whatever you decide and just to ask are you sure you have a good enough place to prospect at to warrant this purchase..........63bkpkr

walldo