Info on this obsidian point?

8_Way_Santa

Greenie
Jun 23, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am a total rookie - you may recall my first find, which I posted here on Treasurenet in this link: http://www.treasurenet.com/forums/north-american-indian-artifacts/636225-puebloan-stone-tool-toy.html . This obsidian point is my second find and I just want to know more about it from forum members, so any and all advice is certainly more than appreciated.

I found this as-is on a mesa in McKinley County near Ramah, NM. It was fully exposed after a rain. This was found not far from the ruins where I found the object linked to above.

I see quite the amount of damage to this. Is it possible to tell if this point broke while being worked?

Does this represent any particular style?

Can a possible era be determined?

Total greenie here, trying to learn what I can from this forum, so I'll take ANY comments or feedback!

Thanks!

20200710_104249.jpg 20200710_104352.jpg 20200710_105203.jpg

Upvote 0

Tdog

Silver Member
May 30, 2019
East Central Alabama
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Hello friend. I'll take a shot at some things I'm seeing. Since it's serrated, those serrations were placed there lastly during manufacture. From pics 2 & 3, I believe the tip sustained an impact fracture by the way it is broken. It was hafted to a shaft at one time. Due to it's small size, I'd say it is a projectile and not a knife--likely an arrow point and if so, it would be no older than approx. 1,800 years. If I think of anything else, I'll update this thread. Congrats on the find.

Garscale

Bronze Member
May 4, 2020
East texas
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
As usual TDog is accurate. True archery point so less than 2000 years old. Damage is classic to have been the result of a shot . Cool piece of history. Its neat to be the first one to see it in a thousand years.

OP
OP

8_Way_Santa

Greenie
Jun 23, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting