Interested in the Hobby

Libralabsoldier

Jan 7, 2007
Baker,LA
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 150
When I was a kid growing up in Louisiana, my stepdad, brother and I used to go and poke around old "house spots" where antebellum slave quarters and sharecropper shacks were on our hunting lease. We found great things like old cobalt blue bottles, belt buckles, and other odds and ends. We always wished we could have had a metal detector to help us.

Now, I am 29. I am a US Army veteran, and have been getting interested in metal detecting. I am something of a coin collector, and would love to find some cool old coins to add to my daughters collection.

I have been put off by the high price of some of the detectors I have seen. I need some advice on new vs used, what brands, and what to check for when I get the thing.

If anyone has an old one laying around, I would gladly pay postage or drive within a hundred miles of 73006 to come and pick it up.

Feel free to give me any and all advice. I am a sponge.

Eu_citzen

Gold Member
Sep 19, 2006
Sweden
Detector(s) used
White's V3, Minelab Explorer II & XP Deus.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Congrats on that first post! :)

Mostly coin hunting or only doing that?
What's your budget?
Do you want a rather "rough" detector or a "fancy" new modern thing?

I would say much depends on your budget, but a new one is always great with warranty and all.
The GTI series should you look up made by Garrett, or an Explorer (made by Minelab),or an Infinium LS and you can go "everywhere" (water and land) also made by Garrett.

warsawdaddy

Gold Member
Nov 23, 2004
Edwards,Missouri
Detector(s) used
MXT - DeLeon - Gamma 6000
If your budget is 250-350--(1)Musketeer Advantage
(2)Ace250
(3)Cibola/Vaquero

All four are good deep units.

OP
OP
Libralabsoldier

Libralabsoldier

Jan 7, 2007
Baker,LA
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 150