Ivory Buddha

captain flintlock

Jul 21, 2015
Detector(s) used
Tesoro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Went to an annual yard sale at the local synagogue yesterday morning and picked up this little gem. An antique ivory laughing Buddha statue on wood. Price was $1.00!! It has all of the proper markings of ivory including the Schreger Lines (angles) on the bottom. This little fella is going to be a keeper. I’m pretty sure that with the bit of research I’ve done, it’s probably late 1890s to maybe the 20s or 30s at most. But I’m no expert so if someone knows more about it, by all means jump right in. ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1531136287.207789.jpg ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1531136297.173446.jpg ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1531136309.990422.jpg ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1531136319.842636.jpg

ARC

Gold Member
Aug 19, 2014
Tarpon Springs
Detector(s) used
JW 8X-ML X2-VP 585
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Nice find... Too bad you can never sell it.

As far as dating... these have been produced for ever... but would not date to prior to 1940.

and just for a "bit more"... the term "Schreger Lines"... is a term used loosely in ivory but not wht they are called... "cross hatching" is what the proper term is.

"Schreger Lines" is the term used in the "method" to distinguish types of ivories.

OP
OP
captain flintlock

captain flintlock

Jul 21, 2015
Detector(s) used
Tesoro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Nice find... Too bad you can never sell it.

As far as dating... these have been produced for ever... but would not date to prior to 1940.

and just for a "bit more"... the term "Schreger Lines"... is a term used loosely in ivory but not wht they are called... "cross hatching" is what the proper term is.

"Schreger Lines" is the term used in the "method" to distinguish types of ivories.