Apr 1, 2009
Maryland
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Discovery 1100
Sooo me and my brother decide to take a hike today at a certain place. After a greasy rain, at the bottom of the hill on trail, we found these scattered among the "normal" rocks some poking out of the did still. I'm no expert but I was wise enough to know we had something awesome ! Gems ! First thought was garnets, now maybe diopside (purple as well) blue garnet / grey in emeralds ???? Not sure either way the are awesome and one VERY new peace I call the rapture nest , the craters look like egg shapes and it's a solid multi dark greens . Several pieces , large pieces . Thoughts and analysis welcomed!!! Most of all Enjoy ! I wasn't for sure what we had until came home and I put the small green and purple on the flash light and turned it .....the result , this picture ! My hair stood up ! Enjoy

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    287.8 KB · Views: 141
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    259.5 KB · Views: 159
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    716.8 KB · Views: 166
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    307.2 KB · Views: 149
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 206
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    863.9 KB · Views: 162
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    870.6 KB · Views: 157

DDancer

Bronze Member
Mar 25, 2014
Traveling US to work
Detector(s) used
Current Equinox 600
Past Whites DFX Garret GTI 2500 and others
Prospecting Minelab GPZ 7000
Past SD 2100 GP 3000 (retired)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Does not look to be any garnet in the batch. Looks that you have found some obsidian possibly rainbow variety in the flashlight pics. At least the last two pics suggest it. Not sure about the others.

Upvote 0

gunntekk1

Mar 19, 2005
Newport PA
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Discovery 2200 and ACE 250, AT PRO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
could be that green and blue slag from an industrial furnace

Upvote 0
OP
OP
R
Apr 1, 2009
Maryland
Detector(s) used