Johnson pump questions

Jordan P

May 19, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey guys, I'm completely new to this new sport of gold sluicing lol. I've gone out once for about 45 mins and found a tiny spec of gold.
I just bought a 2200 GPH Johnson pump. It's red in color. My plan is to make a recirculating sluice with this pump.
My question is, do I place the entire pump under water? Will the pump get damaged from being 100% underwater? And since it's recycling the water, will it damage the pump if it sucks in sand?
Sorry for all the questions, I may have more lol :)
Thanks,
Jordan

Upvote 0

Bonaro

Aug 9, 2004
Olympia WA
Detector(s) used
Minelab Xterra 70, Minelab SD 2200d, 2.5", 3", 4"and several Keene 5" production dredges, Knelson Centrifuge, Gold screw automatic panner
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Read the instructions, many of these bilge pumps are not designed for continuous use out of the water or they will over heat and melt the housing
They are not designed to pump sand at all, doing so will shorten their life...to zero
You can rig a couple buckets so the tailings fall into one bucket and settle and the water will spill to the next bucket where the pump is. Pumping muddy water will not hurt it

Huelten

Nov 22, 2013
Oregon
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I have the exact same pump, i place the whole pump underwater and it works perfectly. If you're building a recirculating system just be careful not to have it sitting on the bottom of the tub, ive had mud get in mine that way. Another thing that could help you is to zip-tie a screen, like a window screen for example, to the bottom of the pump.

B H Prospector

Feb 2, 2010
Black Hills, South Dakota
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting