Just got back from Treasure Island...26 cents and two lead weights!!?? Help!

mts

Bronze Member
May 18, 2009
Ohio
Detector(s) used
Nokta Simplex+, Nokta Pulsedive, Tesoro Vaquero, Tesoro Silver µMax, BH Tracker IV, Garrett ProPointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Well, I just got back from a week at Treasure Island Florida (near Tampa). I also spent an afternoon at Fort De Soto which is supposed to be a decent spot. I didn't go on vacation to detect. But I did take my detector along to try my hand at some real beach detecting. I've never done it before and figured it would be fun. I went out three different times and probably spent a total of six hours. Here are my observations and some questions for the fine folks on this forum.

1) I found two lead fishing sinkers and 26 cents in clad. Not at all what I expected to find. I didn't expect to find any rings but I did expect to find a lot more change. More details follow.

2) The beach and water had virtually no trash which was quite surprising to me. Even in the dry sand I didn't find a lot of foil. Just a few beer bottle caps. Does anyone know if they rake the Treasure Island beach? I didn't hear the machines in the morning and didn't see the telltale signs of raking. But maybe they do and I'm just not that observant. The fact that there was so little trash sure seemed to indicate that they were raking it.

3) My detector (a BH Tracker IV) did fairly well in the saltwater. I had to turn on discrimination in the water and turn the sensitivity down to keep it from chirping every time a new wave would pass over it. But overall I was pleased with how well it behaved itself. I even set it down on the beach when my wife called me at one point and wasn't paying attention. A wave washed right over top of it and it just kept right on ticking. I'm obviously a complete newb to have let my guard down like that.