Just not happy with wood long scoops

47thelement

Bronze Member
Jan 8, 2009
Detector(s) used
E-trac, Excal, ACE 250 for my son
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm not an engineer, I'm a pastry chef, so I need somebody to blow holes in my idea...

Wood and metal long handled scoops are heavy! A long day on the beach can leave you with a sore shoulder. I've tried a couple different things but just haven't found one I'm 100 percent happy with.

But one idea keeps coming back to me...

Carbon fiber.

I know it will shatter when flexed...think Indy cars hitting a wall. But my idea is more along the lines of carbon fiber wire (for lack of a better term). If your familiar with the cables on a suspension bridge you will understand. Many thin strands of carbon fiber tube held together with a sheet of canon fiber or Fiberglas.

Any thought?

Upvote 0

maipenrai

Bronze Member
Nov 11, 2010
Thailand/Europe/California
Detector(s) used
Excalibur 2 1000
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
EXPENSIVE! But to me, the worst part is that after the shaft starts wearing, you will get carbon fibers in your hands, or if used with fiberglass, then glass fibers in your hands. Not very nice, especially when mixed with salt water. I think there are some carbon fiber handles on different kinds of tools, but I wouldnt like to use them.

dc426

Aug 7, 2011
Largo, Florida
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
sand shark, at pro, New CZ-21
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Man I'm with ya on this one. I have a sore shoulder and tennis elbow from this hobby. We really need light weight scoops. I really don't think carbon fiber is the answer. I would love to try a Titanium scoop. I think that would be pretty trick, not sure how well it would do in heavy surf though. You really kinda need something with some weight in surf. Also don't know how Ti would how up in salt water. Sure would like to try one though.
DC

ron lord

Bronze Member
Apr 2, 2007
Zephyrhills Fl
🥇 Banner finds