Jw in Southeast Missouri

Jwh1o1

Jan 11, 2013
Southeast Missouri
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am new to the metal detector thing and am thinking about buying one. I was thinking about a Fisher F2 or F4 for starting out. I have not really used a metal detector all that much but I learn quick. I have been wanting to do this since I was in school and found an old indian head penny walking home from school one day but never got a chance to. Any suggestions for me before I take the plunge? I am interested in coins gold and jewelry.

63bkpkr

Silver Member
Aug 9, 2007
Southern California
Detector(s) used
XLT, GMT, 6000D Coinmaster
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Jw, First welcome to Tnet! Second you have Great Initials, same as my son. Third about any current model detector from a Major Manufacturer you purchase will treat you well, even some of the low end units are ok. Having been where you are I would recommend that you purchase a machine with an all metal mode as well as a variable discrimination mode. I lucked out with my first machine as it had both. As long as you have it you can choose to use it or not and there are times when you do not want any at all and there are other times when you will really need it. I personally prefer White's machines as the three that I own have always treated me well, in fact just today I sent off to White's for a new coil for my XLT which, is a discontinued detector now. I will still use the XLT for a few more years and then I might sell it. Also, will you hunt in the water or while it is raining? If so you really want a waterproof machine and that will really limit the number of detectors you can purchase: Garret, Minelab, Tesoro