looking for all in one machine

dirkbuddy

Jun 14, 2008
i'm looking to purchase another machine once i get back down to the rio grande valley, can anyone give advice regarding a machine that detects well on the beach and in shallow salt water and also works well on land?
i've been looking at the minelab explorer....but since i'm just getting into this hobby i think i would be overwhelmed with the settings on this unit.
what are you people using?

Upvote 0

954hunter

Dec 10, 2007
Ft. Laud. Fl
Detector(s) used
Excal. II
Excal. would probably accomplish what your trying to do, but you would have to hip mount it or you would likely throw out your back.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Either the Excel for the waterproof detector or a wading unit like the Sov. GT. It is very hard to get it all in one detector as water machines need to be built like tanks.

Marty-Graw

Feb 8, 2006
Albertville Alabama
Detector(s) used
Minelab Musketeer Advantage, Garrett Treasure Ace 300
I use the Excalibur everywhere I hunt....water, homesites, parks....it does it all...i have a Fisher ID Excel that weighs about half of the excalibur but I have gotten so used to the tone ID it is perfect for me......the weight is really no problem...it's what you get used to

Mat in MA

Feb 8, 2008
Central Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Silver µMax, DetectorPro Head Hunter Wader, White's MXT, Garrett GTA500, White's Bullseye II pin pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting