Looking for opinions on a big amount of ikes

Silver89

Greenie
Apr 13, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey guys, so I was wondering if I could get some various opinions on a situation I have found myself in.

So I work as a teller at a branch and a older customer whose husband passed away came in today brought in 1500 in large dollar coins. There are 3 bags with 500 in each. Now from what I could see from 2 of the bags that I looked at I could see that they were all Ike's and none looked silver of course you never know.

Now here's the problem the head teller is holding on to them only because she knows I collect silver coins but she will be sending them out by Thursday if I dont take them. So should I take them? I can I only imagine the pain in the butt it would be to get rid of them especially if there is nothing there.

Should I take them to look the for the rarer type 2 varieties or is it not worth it.

Again I appreciate any and all feedback.

Upvote 0

thripp

Jun 21, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You might be able to sell them on eBay, someone on this thread said they get $1.30-$1.50 each sometimes. Of course it would tie up a lot of money for a while.

BillyOceansEleven

May 6, 2011
Why not ask here if you can buy them to look through them and bring back the ones you don't want for her to ship out? If she is saving them for you it seems like she would be willing to do this, especially if she would have to ship them out anyway.

The other option is that you could try selling them. Others on here have had success selling them on Craigslist or to LCS for a slight premium.

Okie115

Apr 15, 2012
Virginia Beach, VA
Detector(s) used
ACE 250
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
1. If you have the cash to spare 500 or 750 a day if you don't have the full 1500.
2. You could also cherry pick them before or after shift since they are holding them for you.