Making the cover of Western and Eastern 2010 Annual Issue

KEVTEC

Apr 19, 2010
Northern Ohio
Detector(s) used
White's Spectra V-3 upgraded to V3I W/ SEF 15X12 Butterfly coil, White's Vision upgraded to V3I W 12 in coil, Minelab Excaliber II, Minelab E Trac, Minelab GPX 5000, Discovery TF 900 2 box, Garrett Pro Pinpointer
:icon_thumright:
First of all I would like to say that I have been hunting for over 30 yrs. to date and I am 51. To answer your question about if the magazine is worth it, I have mixed emotions on that. It is true that it is rather boring reading about Indian head coins and a few silver coins. To take it a step further, I recently had a 4 page article with pictures in the Silver And Gold annual 2010. Reading the contract and guidelines I submitted the story and photos. The process took approx. 4 months. I was told by staff that they wanted to run the article and pictures on one of the monthly issues of the magazine and a cover shot. They also told me that they wanted to do the same story on the 2010 Silver And Gold Annual. They decided to do the story only in the 2010 annual. That was fine with me, except for the fact that there is a set amount of money paid per word, and a set amount paid per photo. Also in the contract it stated they will pay $75.00 - $100.00 per photo used on the cover. Since I had 2 of my photos on the cover and the check didn't add up I called them and I was told that the only way they pay for a cover picture is if it is the only picture on the cover, yet the contract does not state that specifically and I was told that they need to edit the contract to specify that. . It was rather dishearting to say the least as other publishers wanted the story and assured me of cover exposure and money. Even the price per word and picture was more at other publishers, yet I chose Western and Eastern as it has always been my favorite of all the treasure magazines. It takes the article and photos to sell the magazine. In closing I would like