marine animal id help please??

idontfollow

Sep 4, 2012
I have looked for pictures of fossils that resemble this but to no avail. Any feed back would be great! What do you think this guy is? While the entire body isn't visible you can tell by what IS visible that it is wrapped or curved in a semi circle. One end is broken off. The matrix isn't quite as hard as the critter within it. At the risk of sounding like a complete newbie.....is this little guy worth any money? Thanks in advance.

ForumRunner_20121229_061857.png

ForumRunner_20121229_061917.png

ForumRunner_20121229_061950.png

ForumRunner_20121229_062040.png

OP
OP
idontfollow

idontfollow

Sep 4, 2012
Any suggestions ideas or comments are appreciated. Do I have something hanging out of my nose or what? ;)

learose44

Dec 31, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My first thought was an EEL. But, no matter what it is, it is valuable in it's three dimensional uniqueness.

OP
OP
idontfollow

idontfollow

Sep 4, 2012
Thank you for your response. I was beginning to wonder if I was going to get any feedback. When I found this fossil I thought it was a coincidence that it looked like an animal in 3D form. When I rinsed it and saw it was exactly what it logged like I was a bit in denial. I didn't know soft tissue would fossilize in that manner. Thanks again.

OP
OP
idontfollow

idontfollow

Sep 4, 2012
Where would one find a buyer? If I decide to part with it, how do I know what a fair asking price is?

jeff of pa

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 19, 2003
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
That's an Awesome piece ! like you I've never seen something that looks like it became
fossilized while in action.
it almost looks like it was a fish that turned to stone while swimming through a hole.

if real it should have extra value to the right collector.
do you have a university in your neck of the woods ?
perhaps they can suggest someone who can give you confirmation