MD Configuration

Feb 25, 2008
Jackson Purchase area of western Kentucky.
Detector(s) used
Minelab Vanquish 540. Fisher CZ-21; Bounty Hunter SS II; Garrett Carrot.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hi All,

While I am just getting used to my BH Sharp Shooter II I like it quite a lot. I have some background in electronics but I want to confirm something with the techie folks here since I haven't had an answer from the BH techs yet.

Because I am hunting Copacabana and Ipanema I have some security concerns. I find myself not spending as much time digging at any specific location or getting down on my knees to really search a spot beccause I want to be aware of my surroundings as well as not letting my MD out of my hands.

I decided to dismount the control box from my MD and put it on a waist belt so that if I am a victim of a "snatch and run"(the most likely scenario) then they will only get the shaft and coil which would be much easier to replace thna the entire MD.

I taped the cable (from the coil to the control box) to the shaft about 2 inches up to keep it from moving around above the coil. I dismounted to control box as described.

I tried it out on Ipanema for a couple of hours and found nothing. I got a few hits but in digging (wet sand) I never found a target. Pinpointing (all metal mode) also seemed to act very differently from before.

Is there any probability that the engineers use a connection through the shaft to the control box? It seems very unlikely to me but the test run was sure disappointing/confusing.

I could use a nylon strap to tether the entire MD to my waist belt but that isn't my preferred solution.

Thanks,
Tim

OP
OP

Feb 25, 2008
Jackson Purchase area of western Kentucky.
Detector(s) used
Minelab Vanquish 540. Fisher CZ-21; Bounty Hunter SS II; Garrett Carrot.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Batteries was: MD Configuration

Well the poor performance was cured with new batteries even though the low batt light wasn't on.