MDing the Outer Banks

xenaskm

Oct 15, 2007
Bronx, NY
Detector(s) used
BH Quick Silver, Tesoro Tiger Shark
Hi folks,

I'm pretty new at mding, been at it since July. Haven't found anything more than clad and only a couple of dollars.

I'm getting the Tesoro Tiger Shark tomorrow (can't wait!) and heading to the Outer Banks early Friday morning. I know we can't detect on the National Seashore, but I'm wondering if anyone knows a good place to break in and get to know the Tiger Shark. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Sue

Upvote 0

Jason in TN

Bronze Member
Oct 29, 2004
East Tennessee
Have hunted some down there. Need a storm to make it good. Would hit the public beach access points. VA beach is a good spot to have a chance for some gold. About 2 hours north good luck.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The settings for the Sensitivity on the Tiger Shark are set about as far as it can be at the factory for MAX sensitivity. If you open it up and turn it up higher you could mess it up and have trouble getting it stable again. I suggest not touching this pot unless you change to the larger coil and then you need to turn it down.

Good Luck. You'll start finding gold soon, just make sure you can hear a pull tab when you wave the coil over it.

DaChief

Bronze Member
Sep 16, 2007
Middle Tennessee
Detector(s) used
-------(Water)------- Garrett Infinium (Relic and Coin) Minelab Sov. Elite
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome Sue,