Military Amunition on a Public Beach!?

Frodov

Bronze Member
May 24, 2007
Lexington, KY
Detector(s) used
Whites Prism IV / Bullseye II pinpointer
Greetings all! Long time no post. It's been so long I am wondering if I remember how to make a post here at the TreasureNet at all. <grimace>
Was just on vacation this past week, visiting Myrtle Beach (North Myrtle Beach) SC. Of course I took my detector with me. I may not have a waterproof rig that can go out in the surf to hunt for gold in the water, but I am able to hunt the dry sand. I found a handfull of coins and a couple of pieces of jewelry (earrings, two "singles") One is ugly costume Jewelry at best, the other is a modified Buffalo nickel ! Someone soldered on a post to turn it into an earring. Go figure.
The most interesting find this year was a shell... no... not a sea shell... a spent ammunition shell. Now I'm guessing it is 50 cal but as I'm no expert on military ammunitions I thought I might post pics of it here and see if anyone can help me identify it. I was told that during WWII Naval aviators in training would buzz the beaches where practice targets had been set up on shore and afloat in the surf. That might explain the shell casing being on the beach.
Any information would be welcomed... speculation is accepted too. <smile> Thanks for looking.

As always... Happy Hunting!

Frodov

Attachments

• IMG_1101.jpg.JPG
    IMG_1101.jpg.JPG
    54.4 KB · Views: 129
  • IMG_1099.jpg.JPG
    IMG_1099.jpg.JPG
    84.7 KB · Views: 121
  • IMG_1105.jpg.JPG
    IMG_1105.jpg.JPG
    244.2 KB · Views: 129
Upvote 0

Davers

Gold Member
Jan 8, 2013
N.of , I-285...GA
Detector(s) used
Whites Spc xlt & Tesoro Tejon- Now back ...Fisher 1266-X. TRX Pointer. New .Teknetics G2 + . New AT Pro .
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Is it marked with just the 4 & T. W? Looks like it in the picture's ,def , been around awhile & it's a biggin.

John_Deere

Mar 7, 2013
Fredericksburg
Detector(s) used