Minelab Safari - New Machine - Need Your Advice on How to Find Old Stuff!

BrettCo124

Apr 29, 2009
Outside of Philadelphia, PA
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari, Tesoro Sand Shark, Bazooka Gold Trap Mini, Gold Rush Nugget Bucket, Garrett Supersluice Gold Pans
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey everybody!

So I just purchased a new Minelab Safari. I love the machine. I am new to metal detecting, but I've been doing good so far...
So whats my problem? I keep finding modern things. So my question to you all, is:

What should I be looking for on my Minelab Safari? I want to find old coins from the early 1700's on a site that William Penn frequented a lot. I know its hard to answer, but, I am detecting a park that is within 100 yards of the historic property, so is this area where you would all go to detect at to find old coins?

I'm having a hard time determining what area to detect at. I really just don't know, and I am getting tired of digging up coins from the 2000's! lol.
I have permission to hunt in a lot of parks nearby, including an old State Park in Bucks County, PA. Are these places where I should go and look? I really wouldn't feel comfortable asking strangers to hunt on their properties.

Lastly, does any Minelab Safari owners on here have any advice on when to dig? I seem to only want to dig anything 37 to 40. should I not be passing up everything else? Granted, I was only doing that to find silver (i researched that number as being silver).

Thanks everybody for the help. I appreciate it.

-Brett

dholland02

Bronze Member
Jan 15, 2012
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace250
Minelab Safari
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Listen to the tones of the machine, don't even pay attention to those numbers till u learn it. I have dug silver from 36-39 and Indian head from 30-35. So learn what the safari is telling u by its beautiful minelab music lol ha.

liftloop

Silver Member
May 7, 2008
lakelinden mi
Detector(s) used