Most coins in my yard corroded

MountainDewed

Oct 4, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am just learning the basics here and doing a little practicing here in my yard. I have found quite a few coins, but most are eaten up. I'm wondering if a previous owner used to dump chemicals like gas/oil for example before everyone became knowledgeable of the harm from dumping stuff in their yards? It's not an old place(1976 or so) but is kind of depressing to see so many coins ruined. I have found quite a few tire stems so maybe one resident used to do some auto work in the yard and I can see that's just chemicals everywhere.

bigfoot1

Silver Member
Nov 1, 2011
so.cal.mtns.
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
garrett,minelab,fisher,,,atp current weapon of choice
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
fertilizer does that to modern coins...especially zinc pennys.you dont mention the type of coins but I bet the pennys suffer the worst.If you have evergreens...they produce pine needles etc which are very acidic.If he was dumping motor oil or the like your coins would be as fresh as spring air.

Tnmountains

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 27, 2009
South East Tennessee on Ga, Ala line
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Conquistador freq shift
Fisher F75
Garrett AT-Pro
Garet carrot
Neodymium magnets
5' Probe
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Fertilizer and these cheap as crap new coins they make now days. Clad is not what it once was.

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
The coins that are all eaten up, are they pennies? Pennies from 1983 thru today are primarily zink. Can you post some pics to illustrate your point?

Baja

Sep 9, 2015
Mesa AZ
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excalibur ll -
Minelab CTX-3030 -
White's Spectra V3i -
w/ Sun Ray DX-1 probe -
Fisher F75 ProArc -
w/ Sun Ray Invader FX-1 probe