My 1st attempt at electrolysis

IndianaSmith

Jul 21, 2007
This isn't anything "new", as I got the idea(s) for this right on this forum (Floaters being one of them). What I wanted to say was that for anyone who hasn't tried this, you really should give it a try.

Again, I'll start by stating I'm new to this hobby (MD & coins), so this is all a new experience for me. If anyone here feels intimadated by this, don't be. I've got about $7 in the "bucket" I just made. My power supply is the 110v adapter from an old walkman, which has an output of 600ma (under the 1 amp reccommended on this forum).

Below is how I rigged-up the hanger-clips. I stripped the wires out of a piece of #12 romex (house wiring)/ The piece spanning the bucket is the bare ground. I cut the insulated pieces of wire, and stripped 2" of the insulation from the center of the piece, and wrapped it tightly around the bare wire. I then got some copper alligator clips (with smooth jaws instead of teeth) and soldered them onto the end of the "drop-wires". I wanted to try it before I soldered the "wraps" of the hanger-wires to the main wire.

Also, I can add a couple more of these, and clean nearly 24 coins at a time if need be. I can simply add jumper-wires to connect them all together.
elebkt1.jpg

You can see the stainless bolt, with a rubber washer & flat washer on both sides. I added alittle silicone sealer for good measure. I removed the end from the walkman adapter, and added alligator clips to the wires.
elebkt2.jpg

I put 6 EXTREMELY cruddy, caked-up, green pennies in it at 2:00 this afternoon. By 9:00PM, I had to change the water/salt mix, as it was so cruddy, and they're still in the bucket. I didn't believe all the crud that was in the bucket when I emptied it :o

I could actually set & watch the crud "fizzing-off" the coins in chunks. I was suprised at how well this seems to work.
elebkt3.jpg