My first find with my first machine, a penny using an MXT

IWillFindTheGold

Nov 6, 2009
Detector(s) used
White's MXT
I received my first detector ever today, a White's MXT. I got the notice slip from the post office and ran straight down there after work. By the time I got my hands on it, it was already 7:00pm or so. I was dying to get it put together. I wanted to run down to the park to try it out. As I say I've never used a detector before, so I was beyond excited. After reading this forum, watching videos, reading books, listening to podcasts, and communicating with some of you good people on this and other forums all winter, you can imagine there was some pent up energy there. :laughing7:

Anyway, I go to the post office, get the machine home, but lo and behold, the wife is in a terrible mood! Agh! She is all depressed and bent out of shape about a lousy day at work. I tried to be kind to her and show her some support, meanwhile sitting on the sofa tearing open that box like a kid hopped up on sugar at Christmas. :tongue3: I am desperately trying to rationalize between a state of empathy for my poor wife and at the same time concentrate on assembling my new MXT.

Life is tough. Anyway, although I've never touched a detector before, due to all my research, reading, learning from some of you fine folks etc., I was no stranger to that darned MXT. I must have blasted the thing together in just under 2 minutes. Now I was itching to get out to that park. Due to overcast skies all day in my area, it was getting dark fast.

And what does the wife say right at that moment? "Do you want to go out for dinner?"

:cussing:

Part of me wanted to run out the door with that thing. But, alas, the gentleman in me took over, and out we went to the restaurant. By the time we got back, it was getting very dark, but I couldn't let that dissuade me from at LEAST going out and plunking it down a few times in the park.