my first opal and cab today (then set it in a ring)

phishisgroovin

May 24, 2012
Kent, Wa.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I tried my super beginner luck on opal today since i got out of work a bit early.

Stopped at jerrys rock & jems and grabbed a bunch of chunks to play with.

Picked up some dop wax as well, smells like pine tree when heated.

well, here goes.

free hand oval

no, im not an artist so i faked it. hand crafted oval by the handicapped here.

ground a bit

then more

Remind you, this is my very first cab

Just like my very first Heart i made, IT BROKE!
while setting it in the ring. had a flaw i missed. didnt look closely at it through my loupe like i should have lol!

broke but put back in place for a picture.

So i started over with an opaque piece after looking through the loupe before starting, i seen no flaws or hairline cracks. So i started.

it was pouring out so my phone stayed in the house while i hit the wheel
Heres what i ended up with.

this is my second cab ever.

And one the wifes finger!

I got a HAPPY MOMMA! Happy wife = HAPPY LIFE!
Peace!
Phish.

Eu_citzen

Gold Member
Sep 19, 2006
Sweden
Detector(s) used
White's V3, Minelab Explorer II & XP Deus.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Opal is quite brittle and not a good choice for a first stone. Think more along the lines of Agate, chalcedony, rhyolite and other more stable materials first. Just a tip. :)

Upvote 0
OP
OP
phishisgroovin

phishisgroovin

May 24, 2012
Kent, Wa.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Opal is quite brittle and not a good choice for a first stone. Think more along the lines of Agate, chalcedony, rhyolite and other more stable materials first. Just a tip. :)
i live on the edge man, it was cheap ($1) for what i purchased, i saved the ethiopian opal for later, this is mexican opal which even at $25 a pound, it was only shards. My efforts paid off and i learned that final polishing shouldnt be with a machine, its an elbow grease job.