Need Advice From Experienced Prospectors

Ryan1979

Mar 8, 2007
St. Paul, MN
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Tracker IV, ACE250
Hello,

I want to try to do some prospecting in Wisconsin. Here is the problem; I've never done it before and I don't know anyone who has.

Here are some of the things I need help with and a little information on where I would like to try:

The area I'm looking at is a small creek that flows year-round. It starts at a spring that was dammed up years ago, about 3/4 of a mile from where I have access to.

The stream itself is anywhere from 2 feet to 8 feet wide and anywhere from 8 inches to 3 feet deep (other than when we get heavy rains or spring snow melt-off).

The creek flows generally west to east here where it starts.

The area where the creek flows is in a fairly deep valley with tall limestone/sandstone walls bordering it in on the south side. The north side is fairly level to the creek.

The creekbottom itself is sandy gravel and some areas have little ripples (mini-rapids) with larger rocks in it. The areas with the bigger rocks are no bigger than say, the size of a persons head.

My first question is: given this description, where should a person start. Are the spots near the faster-flowing areas generally more productive than say, the slower flowing areas?

Are there any certain types of rocks or minerals that I should be on the lookout for, that generally give a better indication that gold may be present.

Basically, I need a starting point on the creek to try, most likely with a simple pan.

So, the firs question is: Where should I start?

Then, my question would be, how should I do it? I have the ability to make a small sluice as most of the things I need I already have. Or should a person just use a pan to begin with and then try the sluice if they find color?

Any information on how to start out would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys and gals,

Ryan1979

Upvote 0

Jeffro

Silver Member
Dec 6, 2005
Eugene, Oregon