Bullhead23

Sep 30, 2012
Omaha, Nebraska
Detector(s) used
Current-Minelab E-Trac, Sunray Pro phones, TW digger
Past-Garrett Treasure Ace 300
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Ok, so I've been working with a Garrett Ace 300, I want to say, for the past 13 years(pretty sure I got it for my 10th birthday). My 1st and only metal detector, I was off and on with it throughout the years never finding much. A big part of it was getting into another nerdy hobby of mine(fossil hunting) which produced a lot more consistent finds for me. Secondly I was younger and didn't put in enough research or time to to make it to the right areas and find anything significant so that was discouraging. Lastly it just seemed like there were very few places to hunt in Maryland that were legal(now I'm sure that If I could go back there I could find plenty of good areas). Now I'm living in Nebraska and with less to do around here I've brought back out the old Ace. I've found a decent amount of clad with it, one silver dime(Rosie), one sterling ring,and a few wheat pennies over the last few months but I'm ready to upgrade. I can only get it to go down no more than 3 maybe four inches at the max on a coin and that's a rarity. Knowing what I know now, I'm taking this hobby much more seriously and I really want to commit and start finding the older, deeper stuff(just one pre 1900s coin would make my year, hell I'd be happy with just a single merc dime right now). I know everyone has there opinion on whats the best detector out there and there may not be such a thing but I think with all the reviews, videos and such, the Minelab Etrac has really won me over. With tax season approaching, I'm in the market for one and what I'd like to know from you is where to go to get the best deal with the most options. I've seen ads for places like BigBoys Hobbies, kellyco,etc. and I hear that wherever you go you should try to work out a deal over the phone for the best price. If anyone knows of any local dealers(n