Need Help/Advice On The Sluice Part Of My Dredge

afreakofnature

Nov 16, 2010
Hello Everyone,

I need some help on the last part of my dredge build. I am new to dredging, but obtained a lot of the parts and pieces along the way and had a pump already from my highbanker so most of this came together for free. I have a 2" Old Keene dredge that used to sit on an innertube similar to the one in the picture below (it now is on floats). Anyways lets just focus on the sluice, that is where I need help. I do not have any carpet, moss, punchplate or riffles. I did not get any of that when I got all this stuff basically given to me. I would like to know what to do to this and I am willing to spend some cash on the last bit. The sluice is 10.5" wide and 36" long. I do have Goldhog's Riverhog matting that is 30" long (untrimmed) that I was going to use in my highbanker, but chose not too. I see that they do use this in their dredge, but cut, with expanded metal near the top and some punch plate too I think, just based off the videos that I have seen. But their dredge is a 5" and their sluice is much longer, so I am not sure if their design would work for my little sluice, plus I have a crash box. So I need some advice on what to do. I have 36" of sluice length to work with, what should I do for the best overall recovery. I will be using a Keene's P90 Pump which produces a maxium of 100 gallons per minutes and capble of 161 feet of head lift. This pump works very well on my highbanker with various Gold Hog matting, but again it is a highbanker where the sluice angle can be tweaked, my drege only has 3 angle adjustments for the sluice. [FONT=Arial,Helvetica][SIZE=-1][/SIZE][/FONT]Please keep in mind that I can not test and test and test, like what is really needed. I am not able to dredge near home, I go out on trips to visit friends and relatives and will be using this in a variety of different places, like Oregon and Wyoming to name a few. Basically it is going to be a travel