Need help with my mxt, major problem!

Tn hunter

May 4, 2013
Dandridge, East Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Whites Mxt, Super12 coil, dx1 inline target probe
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
First I would like to say Hi to everyone as I am new to this forum. Ive been detecting with my Whites Mxt and super 12 coil for many years without any problems and lots of finds. Over the last few months relic hunting here in East Tennessee my detector has acquired a mind of its own. I start out balancing the coil, getting my settings where I like them and usualy after 20 minutes, give or take, the screen starts to go crazy running through most of the possible relic ID's with all of the corresponding tones. It doesnt matter if I turn it off, replace the battery, hold it straight up in the air, even checked the coil and wires. Sometimes it stops for a while and then starts again. I really need some help with this problem as I am at a loss. I called Whites and basiclly didnt get a straight answer at all. Please help, Scott:BangHead:

Upvote 0

Ism

Jun 17, 2009
Michigan
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Vaquero
Whites TDI
Minelab Sovereign GT
XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
First check the coil wire by moving it around near the connector and the coil (most likely points of failure) when the detector acts up. If it comes back, you probably have a broken wire or bad connection.
Otherwise, you might have a bad solder connection on the circuit board with one of the components, or it could be one of the IC's failing.
Whites probably cannot diagnose it over the phone, that's why they are vague. You will have to decide if the costs are worth sending in to get it fixed if you can't find/fix the problem yourself.

Also, Geotech forum has a lot of techies that may have encountered the problem. You may wish to pose your question there to see if someone can help.

George (MN)

May 16, 2005