Bicster

Greenie
Dec 7, 2012
Conshohocken PA
Detector(s) used
XLT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi, I'm fairly new to hunting and have only ever used my XLT and have about 20 or so hunts under my belt, I've read that I'm not using it right. I have only hunted with the coin and jewelry program and when I hunt I've been using a real slow swing speed. I have found a lot of stuff, mostly pull tabs, a good bit of clad, and one gold plated ring. My question is even with all my finds am I swinging to slow? Should i swing fast like I've read? I've just learned about this and have not tried swinging fast because the ground here is frozen, but come spring what would someone with this machine recommend? I appreciate any and all feedback. Thanks, joe

NMCaveman

Greenie
Jan 12, 2014
Aztec NM
Detector(s) used
Whites spectrum XLT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have had an XLT for some years now. I use mine at a moderate speed. I figure left to right and back in about 3 seconds. The other thing is the type of hunting that you want to do. If you are in a park and there's trash and can slaw, moderate speed is fine. At a homestead, take your time and listen carefully. Either way works and it is just going to take a little time to get used to that machine. Dig everything and take notes on how your detector reacts to materials. the biggest thing that I have had to learn was to raise the coil off the ground above suspect targets. Smaller targets the signal fades away but over a beer can it will not fade even if the can is over 18" deep. Set your detector to have different tones for different targets. THIS REALLY HELPS ID TARGETS. THis was a short course on detecting I will help you as much as I can. good luck and happy hunting.

OP
OP
B

Bicster

Greenie
Dec 7, 2012
Conshohocken PA
Detector(s) used
XLT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting