New Coin roll hunter needs help!

hns11550

Sep 23, 2006
St Louis Missouri
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
First I want to say I have been very impressed at the various finds everyone has posted. I have just gotten into the MD hobby and it has also led me to start roll hunting. I am unfortunately an idiot when it comes to what to look for. Can someone give me key years and special things to look for in halves, quarters, dimes, nickles, and pennies. I am just beginning and would really appreciate the help and advice.

Mike

Upvote 0

coolcash2004

Bronze Member
Jun 9, 2006
Detector(s) used
ACE 250
Ok here is a feature length explanation.

First off, it is very helpful to go to a bank that you have an account with or know the teller, they are much happier that way.

Second, a roll of cents is 50 cents, nickels is $2, dimes is $5, quarters and halves are $10.

I reccomend the halves.

First go into a bank and ask if they have any half dollars, they will usually say either no, or they will say we have a couple dolalrs in loose halves (halves in there coin tray) or they might also say they have a bunch in the vault. Tell them you will buy them all.

They will either give you rolls of halves or loose ones, buy them all.

When searching in halves, look for anything dated pre 1971, (those are silver) 1965-1970 are 40% silver and everything before that is 90% silver. Keep an eye out for franklins, walkers, and any other non kennedy halves. Also look for anything with an "S" mintmark, proof coins can be very lucrative. Just the other day i got a gem BU 1995 proof half; EST: $30. Half dollars produce the most finds or "keepers"* as some people like to call them.

If they run out of halves at the banks try ordering a box, its $500 (1,000 halves) and contains 50 rolls. You can get VERY LUCKY with boxes or you could get SKUNKED**. Either way they are alot of fun.

Most tellers at banks will have many rolls of quarters, dimes, nickels, and pennies.