New Guy - Just getting into jewelry and need scale recommendations

Mar 30, 2015
Salem County, New Jersey
Primary Interest:
Other
Hello, I am new to TN and also new to jewelry and precious metals and have a question...what do you people use for a scale and do you take it with you when picking? The reason I ask is that I have purchased and sold some jewelry on eBay, and twice out of approximately 15 or so sales, the buyer has complained that my scale is off. I do take photos of the item on my digital scale for the listing. The scale that I have been using, I picked up from somewhere many years ago...it is an "HAD Professional Digital Jewellery Scale 100ctx0.005ct". Thanks!

2Minnesota

Bronze Member
Jul 12, 2008
Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Tiger Shark, Whites 5900/Di Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting

mojjax

Silver Member
Feb 27, 2005
MAINE
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
a nickle weighs 5 grams . Put one on your scale an see what it says .

OP
OP
R
Mar 30, 2015
Salem County, New Jersey
Primary Interest:
Other
That is a very inexpensive scale. Thank you for the recommendation! The pieces that I have sold thus far were single/individual pieces of gold jewelry. The first complaint that I received was left in a positive feedback where the buyer said that my scale was 0.02 grams off. My second complaint occurred when the buyer said I was off on the weight and had to refund him $30 to make him happy. Could have been a scam the second time as they probably read the earlier feedback, but I am not sure.

Jayers

Jun 28, 2014
Michigan
Detector(s) used
Just starting out with a BH
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
.02 grams is NOT an accuracy someone should complain about. That's a difference of 77 cents worth of pure 24k gold. That's ridiculous.

cyberdan

Silver Member
Dec 12, 2006
Very Northern Left Coast
Detector(s) used
XLT & Bigfoot
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting