New HB'r first wet test

wtetro

Jan 6, 2013
Aridzona
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
In the sluice, what k8nda of mat are you using? One suggestion I'd make is to add a heavy rubber mat up at the top of the box to flatten and settle some of the bubbles out to ensure a more even flow over the riffles. The water will flow underneath this flap and give you a less turbulent flow and help spread material out more evenly. Also up top, maybe some punch plate if you haven't already.

OP
OP
T

TheEquineFencer

Mar 31, 2012
Farmville,NC
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
It's new conveyor matting I get at a very reasonable cost. I thought about adding the rubber mat you're talking about and probably will later on.

If things work out this coming weekend, my prospecting buddy is bringing his 2-1/2 Keene HB'r and we're going to run them and see what we come up with. If someone runs my tailings they might get lucky....

matt_unique

Jul 16, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new to dredging, but my Keene nozzle water input pipe makes a full 180 turn before connecting to the main nozzle pipe ensuring the water flow direction and thus suction. I wonder with your 90 degree angle if it will splash out both directions?

OP
OP
T

TheEquineFencer

Mar 31, 2012
Farmville,NC
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
My nozzle is nothing like a Keene. My nozzle has a 4 inch body that surrounds a 3 inch pipe and the water can only go one way, out towrds the HB'r because of the taper.

wtetro

Jan 6, 2013
Aridzona
Primary Interest:
Prospecting