New Hobby Teknetics G2+ question

dustman27

Apr 16, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello everyone. I am new to this Hobby and after lots of reading, videos and research was strongly considering a Garret AT Pro for my first detector. However, someone near me is selling their very slightly used G2+ Camo LTD with the box for only $400 (he decided he didn't like the hobby as much as he expected) and the cheapest I can find an AT PRO is $500 at the moment. I live in Arizona, and would be using this mostly to find coins and jewelry in parks, with the occasional trip into some of the old mining towns for relics and gold nuggets.

I watched the videos and what appeals to me about the AT-Pro is its various modes you can select from and ease of use. The G2+ seems like it would have more of a learning curve.

Is the G2+ a good machine? My understanding is that it is an upgraded G2, couldn't find a lot of reviews on it.

I am also considering buying the G2+ and perhaps selling it on Ebay or something since its priced so low, but I am unsure of teknetics resale values since I cant find any used ones for sale online. Does resale take a hit on account of the nontransferable warranty? Is $400 a good price?

any input is much appreciated!

Thanks!!

Last edited:

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Jump on that deal! The G2 is a nugget hunter, operating at 19kHz. It will also work as a park hunter. They retail new at about $735.00. No harder to learn than the AT Pro. I say go for it!n:skullflag:

Texas Ed

Bronze Member
Feb 5, 2016
Texas Gulf Coast
Detector(s) used