New Hobby

Dirtyjim

Greenie
Jan 6, 2010
Visalia Ca.
Detector(s) used
White's MXT
Hello to all from Visalia Ca.
I'm just getting started in this new hobby of metal detecting, so far so good I suppose.
First and formost I have to blame Edward, AKA- FCCDFED, He and his Bro-inlaw Mike.They were
both very generous as well as informative in my start up in this hobby. I found one of Edward's post on this
forum while reading and looking for a local member for info. I sent Edward a email asking for info on detectors
and he sent a list of things to consider, On top of that, without having met me he invited me to join him and Mike on a hunt at a local school yard. I didn't own a detector, he brought along his wife's and taught me a few things so that I could enjoy the hunt. He even brought and extra pin pointer, a digger and knee pads for my use. Well needless to say I did have a great time that day.

Since that day I have purchased a used Whites MXT and am learning its secrets little by little. There is a great amount of useful info to be digested both here as well as the many other forums on-line and also on youtube, Whites has a series of videos on the MXT on youtube that was very helpful to me.

With all this being said, I'm concerned about MD'ing solo, So far I'm aware of most of the rules as far as having permission is concerned but in reality your just a sitting duck with headphones on when hunting alone, Any advice on this is welcome. I am actively looking for someone local for backup in this hobby.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can share. I have found this forum to be very useful
DirtyJim

Woodland Detectors

Gold Member
Nov 23, 2008
Toll Free ~ 855~966~3563
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
"With all this being said, I'm concerned about MD'ing solo"

:dontknow: :icon_scratch:

I stopped reading here.

Why?

No one is going to bother you but little kids and curious adults.
Just be smart about where you decide to detect.