New Member, Washington State

Jan 14, 2017
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Hello,

I finally decided to start pursuing my interest in metal detecting. I have been reading a lot of books and watching Youtube to learn the basics. I am in Washington State and from the internet I have gathered that there are a lot of legal restrictions on where metal detecting is allowed. I have found a list of state parks with maps of where metal detecting is allowed, but I was wondering if anyone here knows if underwater metal detecting is allowed anywhere in the Puget Sound. I am interested in beach and shallow water detecting, but I am also interested in detecting on scuba. I have been diving for many years and have a Divemaster certification, I also worked as diver professionally for a while so I feel comfortable and safe doing this. I would mostly detect in shallow water close to shore, probably 30' or less. I know that divers around here go bottle hunting and keep interesting things that they find underwater, but I don't know of anyone who uses a metal detector here. Is anyone familiar with any laws that would stop me from doing this or know where to look to find out?

Oct 5, 2014
Massachusetts
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett: AT Pro, AT Gold & Infinium; Minelab: Explorer SE, II; Simplex; Tesoro: Tejon & Outlaw; White's: V3i
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Welcome to the forum from Massachusetts!

CJayC

Jan 14, 2017
Auburn, WA
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Also new and from WA state. What restrictions are you speaking of? Because from my research, there didn't seem to be that many.

OP
OP
P
Jan 14, 2017
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Also new and from WA state. What restrictions are you speaking of? Because from my research, there didn't seem to be that many.